European Union: Suspension of Visa Facilitation Agreement with Russia

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

This article was originally published on 9 September 2022 and was updated on 26 September 2022 to reflect new information. 


The government of Poland introduced new entry restrictions for Russian nationals on 26 September 2022. As a result, the government of Poland will only permit entry of Russian nationals for the following purposes: 

  • Russian nationals arriving to participate in athletic events, members of training staff, doctors, physiotherapists, and accredited journalists.  
  • Russian nationals traveling for business purposes. These travelers must hold a written invitation indicating the business purpose for entry issued by an entity entered into the National Court Register or the Central Register and Information on Business Activity in Poland.  
  • Russian nationals holding a valid work permit in Poland, holding a Poland Business Harbour visa, or who are students at a higher education institution in Poland. 

Russian nationals seeking entrance into Poland for other purposes must request special permissions from the Commander-in-Chief of the Border Guard.  


The government of Hungary stated that the country will continue to issue visas to Russian nationals. According to the government announcement, the country will continue to issue Schengen visas, including multiple-entry visas, to Russian nationals.  

This article was originally published on 9 September 2022 and was updated on 20 September 2022 to reflect new information. 


The government of Denmark announced that it will implement the European Union’s (EU) decision to suspend the visa facilitation agreement between the EU and Russia. As a result, applications for short-term visas will be processed in accordance with the regular applicable visa rules. The applicants are also required to submit additional documents with the application. For additional information on the suspension and processing of short-term visa applications, check here.  


The government of Estonia, in coordination with Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland will suspend the entry of Russian tourists through external borders.  


The government of Latvia will allow for limited entry into the country for Russian citizens. In addition, visa applications lodged by Russian citizens will only be accepted for exceptional cases effective 19 September 2022. Exceptional cases will include applications submitted by family members (spouses, parents, grandparents, children, grandchildren and other dependent persons) of a national of Latvia or those seeking entrance for humanitarian matters.  

Key Points   

  •  The European Council announced the full suspension of the Visa Facilitation Agreement with Russia on 9 September 2022   


The government of the European Council announced the full suspension of the European Union’s (EU) Visa Facilitation Agreement with Russia. As a result, Russian citizens will no longer be granted privileged access to the European Union, including access to reduced processing times for immigration documents. Additionally, more restrictive rules for the issuance of multiple-entry visas will be put into place and member states of the EU will have the ability to add additional measures for applications. Visa application fees will also increase from €35 to €80.    

What are the Changes?   

The European Council announced the full suspension of its Visa Facilitation Agreement with Russia. According to the update, the suspension is in response to increased risks and threats to the EU’s security interests and the national security of EU member states.  

Looking Ahead   

Continue to check the government of the European Council’s website and Envoy’s website for the latest updates and information.   

Subscribe to Envoy's Global Blog Digest

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.