EU: Commission Approves Visa-Free Travel Agreement with Kuwait and Qatar

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

Key Points  

  • Short-term visa-free travel agreement with Kuwait and Qatar approved by the European Council and Commission  


The European Council and European Commission have approved a proposal to provide short-term visa-free travel for the citizens of Kuwait and Qatar. Under this proposal, citizens of Kuwait and Qatar will be permitted to travel to the European Union (EU) for a maximum duration of 90 days in a 180-day period without requiring a visa. The proposal will also provide reciprocal agreements with Qatar and Kuwait that will permit EU nationals to travel visa-free to these countries. For additional background on this agreement, check here.  

What are the Changes? 

The European Council and Commission approved an agreement that would allow for short-term visa-free travel between the EU and Kuwait or Qatar. Citizens of these two countries would also be permitted to travel to any EU member state for a short-term period of 90 days.  

Looking Ahead  

The proposal will be moved to the European Parliament where it will undergo further discussion. If approved, the agreement will become effective after the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) becomes effective in 2023. Continue to check the European Parliament's website and Envoy’s website for the latest updates and information.  

For more news and insights from around the world, please sign up for Envoy’s Global Blog Digest, emailed to you every Wednesday morning. 

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.