Global: CPLP Member States Sign Mobility Agreement

Last Updated on February 23, 2023


This month, the Community of Portuguese Speaking Countries (CPLP) has officially signed a mobility agreement that will permit the granting of visas and residence permits as well as the movement of its citizens within the Community’s member countries. The CPLP is made up of nine different countries, including Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé and Príncipe, and Timor-Leste. The agreement will take effect in 2022.  

Key Points

  • The CPLP has signed an agreement that will increase mobility and tourism amongst its citizens. 
  • New visas and residence permits will become available for eligible nationals of CPLP member states, including: 
    • Short Stay CPLP visa for short-term work visits into a member state 
    • CPLP Temporary Stay visa for stays no longer than one year in a member state 
    • CPLP Residence Permit for obtaining residence in a member state 
  • The terms of the agreement will take effect in 2022. 

What are the Changes? 

This new agreement is the first of its kind for promoting and expanding tourism, employment opportunities, business activities, and general mobility between the nine member states of the CPLP commonwealth.  

Looking Ahead 

The mobility agreement is expected to promote greater opportunities for employers to attract more talent and offer more opportunities to the 287 million citizens of the CPLP member states. 


Content in this publication is not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an Envoy-affiliated attorney or another qualified professional.