The United Kingdom: Expansion of ETA to Gulf Cooperation Council Member States

Key Points 

  • All citizens of Gulf Cooperation Council member states will require electronic travel authorization to enter the United Kingdom beginning 1 February 2024  


Beginning 1 February 2024, the government of the United Kingdom (UK) will require nationals of Oman, Bahrain, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Jordan to obtain electronic travel authorization (ETA) when entering the country. Nationals of these countries must obtain an ETA if they plan to travel on or after 22 February 2024.  

Over the past two years, the government has introduced ETA to all Gulf Cooperation Council member countries (GCC). According to the announcement, additional countries will be added to the list in the coming year.  

Looking Ahead  

Continue to check the government of the UK’s website and Envoy’s website for the latest updates and information.  

Subscribe to Immigration News Alerts from Envoy

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at Corporate Immigration Partners, P.C., or another qualified professional of your choosing. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult your Envoy representative, or another qualified representative of your choosing.   

OISC registration number F202000157