Taiwan: Updates for Permitted Countries and Hotel Quarantine 

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

Key Points 

  • Removal of government facility quarantine for travelers arriving from countries with low infection levels 
  • 3 countries no longer classified as high-risk countries   


The government of Taiwan announced travelers arriving from low-risk countries will no longer be required to quarantine at a government facility. Instead, these travelers will be required to quarantine at a quarantine hotel or group quarantine facility at their own expense for the first 10 days after arrival. The remaining 4 days of quarantine can be completed at a home residence.  

For additional information concerning quarantine rules click here. Upon arrival, these travelers will be required to: 

  • Undergo a PCR test; 
  • Undergo an additional PCR test between day 9 and 10 of quarantine at a hospital or location designated by the local government. Arrangements for either of the options must be made with the local government; 
  • If the test is negative, on day 11 travelers may take a quarantine taxi home or go to the residence of a friend or family member to undergo the final 3 days of quarantine; and 
  • Take PCR on day 13 of the quarantine. 

These above-mentioned quarantine requirements will remain in place until Feb. 14, 2022 

In addition, the authorities of Taiwan announced that beginning Nov. 6, 2021, travelers from the United Kingdom, Myanmar and India will no longer be classified as high-risk countries according to the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC). Travelers from these countries will be required to: 

  • Provide a negative RT-PCR test within 72 hours prior to departure to Taiwan; 
  • Ensure that proper arrangements are made for hotel quarantine location prior to travel; 
  • Take a PCR test after arrival;
  • Undergo a 14-day quarantine; 
  • Take a rapid antigen test on day 6 or 7 of quarantine; and 
  • Take a PCR test between day 12 and 14 of quarantine. 

What are the Changes? 

The government of Taiwan released new requirements for travelers from countries that do not present a high-risk of infection. These requirements include a change in quarantine requirements and the removal of government facility quarantine for certain travelers. The countries of the UK, Myanmar and India are also no longer classified as high-risk countries by the government.  

Looking Ahead 

Continue to check the authorities of Taiwan's website and Envoy’s website for additional information and updates.    

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.