South Korea: Japan Added to Visa-Free Entry Program

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

Key Points  

  • South Korea will expand the list of countries and regions that are permitted to apply for entry into South Korea through its electronic registration system  


The government of South Korea will expand the number of countries and regions permitted to enter the country without obtaining an entry visa on 1 November 2022. These new countries and regions will include Japan, Kiribati, Micronesia, Macao, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Taiwan and Tango.  

Although these travelers will be permitted to travel to South Korea visa-free for limited activities, they will still need to submit a Korean electronic travel authorization (K-ETA) application. Applicants must complete K-ETA registration no more than 72 hours before departure. Generally, K-ETA authorization remains valid for multiple trips over a two-year period or until the applicant’s passport expires if this happens sooner.   

What are the Changes?  

The government of South Korea updated its list of approved countries and regions in which travelers can travel visa-free with K-ETA authorization. This will allow for faster entry into South Korea for eligible applicants.  

Looking Ahead  

The government advises that delays in K-ETA application assessments are expected due to the expected increase in applications. Continue to check the government of South Korea’s website and Envoy’s website for the latest updates and information.   

Subscribe to Envoy's Global Blog Digest


Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.