Israel: Updated Travel Permissions and Updated Red List 

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

Key Points  

  • Mexico added to Red List country  
  • 55 countries and territories removed from the Red List 


The government of Israel will add Mexico to its Red List country classification effective 30 Dec. 2021. The Red List will now include the countries of the United Arab Emirates, the USA, Ethiopia, the United Kingdom, South Africa, Hungary, Tanzania, Nigeria, Spain, Portugal, France, Canada and Turkey. Travelers from these countries are not permitted to enter Israel unless an exemption has been granted. 55 countries and territories will also be removed from the Red List, allowing more travelers to enter Israel. For additional information on entrance requirements for travelers granted exemptions arriving from a Red List country click here. 

What are the Changes? 

Effective 30 Dec. 2021, the government of Israel added Mexico as a Red List country. Travelers from a Red List country are not permitted to enter Israel unless an exemption is granted and the traveler undergoes strict arrival requirements, including quarantine and additional COVID-19 testing.  

Looking Ahead  

Continue to check the government of Israel’s website and Envoy’s website for additional updates and information.   

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.