France: U.S. Driver’s License Recognized

Key Points  

  • France will no recognize driver’s license issued in 18 U.S. states  

Driver License Recognition   

The government of France will now recognize U.S. citizens holding driver’s license issued in 18 U.S. states. These states include the following:   

  • Arkansas 
  • Colorado 
  • Connecticut 
  • Delaware 
  • Florida 
  • Illinois 
  • Iowa 
  • Massachusetts 
  • Maryland 
  • Michigan 
  • New Hampshire 
  • Ohio 
  • Oklahoma 
  • Pennsylvania 
  • South Carolina 
  • Texas 
  • Virginia   
  • Wisconsin       
  • Previously the list only included 13 states. Eligible U.S. citizens must file an online exchange within the first 12 months of their arrival in France. U.S. citizens moving to France from a state not on the list must pass a French driving test, which includes an initial test about the highway code in France.  

Looking Ahead  

Continue to check the government of France’s website and Envoy Global’s website for the latest updates and information.  


Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at Corporate Immigration Partners, P.C., or another qualified professional of your choosing. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult your Envoy representative, or another qualified representative of your choosing.