Finland: Restrictions on Entry ban Lifted for 12 countries

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

Key Points

  • Restrictions on entry lifted for all residents of countries and regions on the EU green travel list  


The government of Finland announced that restrictions on entry will be lifted for all residents of countries and regions on the EU green list beginning in October 2021. These countries and regions include Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, Jordan, Qatar, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates and Uruguay.  

Entry restrictions for countries not listed on the EU green list will be extended until Nov. 7, 2021 with additional possible extensions. Travelers arriving from these countries still under travel and entry restrictions must be fully vaccinated or be traveling for essential business.  Unvaccinated essential business travelers must: 

  • Present a negative COVID-19 test taken no more than 72 hours prior to travel; and  
  • Take a second COVID-19 test 3-5 days after arrival in Finland 

What are the Changes?  

As of Oct. 18, 2021, 12 countries are exempt from current entry restrictions to Finland. This will allow for more travelers to enter Finland for nonessential travel purposes. Entry restrictions will be extended for countries not listed on the EU green list until Nov. 7, 2021. 

Looking Ahead

Continue to check the government of Finland’s website for additional updates on entry restrictions changes and extensions. For additional information visit Envoy’s website.  


Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.