EU: Council Updates Travel Restrictions List

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

Key Points 

  • Thirteen countries recommended to be removed from the EU’s list of countries in which travel restrictions should be applied  


On 17 Jan. 2022, the European Council (EC) recommended that travel restrictions on 13 countries from outside of the European Union (EU) and the Schengen Area be gradually lifted. Several of these countries include China (subject to reciprocity confirmation), New Zealand, Canada and the United Arab Emirates. For a complete list of impacted countries click here 

What are the Changes?  

The EC updated its country list in which travel restrictions were recommended. This decision can influence how EU member states and Schengen associated countries determine their own internal travel restriction rules. EC recommendations are not legally binding to EU member states and some countries may choose not to lift current travel restriction measures.  

Looking Ahead  

Continue to check the European Council’s website and Envoy’s website for additional updates and information.  

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.