EU: Council Updates Travel Restriction List

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

Key Points  

  • The EU Council recommended that 21 countries and territories be removed from the regional travel restriction list  


On Nov. 9, 2021, the European Council (EC) recommended that travel restrictions on 21 countries and territories from outside the European Union (EU) and Schengen Area be gradually lifted. For a complete list of impacted countries and territories click here 

What are the Changes? 

The European Council updated the list of countries and territories that have restricted entry. This decision influences how EU member states and specifically Schengen area states determine their own internal travel restriction rules. However, the recommendation is not legally binding to EU member states. Depending on the circumstances of each member statesome countries may lift or maintain restrictions on these 21 countries and territories.  

Looking Ahead 

Continue to check the European Council’s website and Envoy’s website for the latest updates and additional information concerning travel entrance restrictions and measures based on the Council’s recommendation.  

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.