Estonia: Country-Specific Brexit Information

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

UK nationals who are residents of Estonia before the Brexit transition ends on December 31, 2020 may stay in the country. Following the Brexit transition, UK nationals must register on the Estonian Population Register before March 31, 2021 if they will be in Estonia for more than three months. They must also apply for an ID card. An ID card is required for all Estonian residents and citizens over age 15. 

Entry and Residency Requirements

EU nationals who were residents of Estonia before December 31, 2020 can prove their residency with a current ID card. Applications for a new residency permit can be filed electronically or in person at a Police and Border Guard Board service office.

The fee for an Article 50 residence card application is EUR 35. There is an additional fee of EUR 20 for collection at a consular post. A fee of EUR 64 applies for premium processing.

Travel is permitted in the Schengen area for up to 90 days in a 180-day period without a visa to visit family or friends; attend business meetings, sports events, or cultural events; for tourism, and for short-term study or training.

Travelers should note that visits to other Schengen countries within the previous 180 days also count towards the 90-day maximum stay. 

Working in Estonia

UK nationals who are registered as residents in Estonia can continue working in the country. Certain documents may be required to apply for a job, including:

  • UK criminal records certificate
  • Estonian criminal records certificate

Individuals who have previously worked in Estonia may also need to provide a record of their Estonian employment history. Records can be requested through the Estonian Ministry of Social Affairs.

UK nationals who live in Estonia and commute to work in an EU/EFTA country may require a permit to prove that they are a frontier worker starting in January 2021. The Home Office will provide further details when guidance is available.


Through December 31, 2020, individuals must have at least six months’ validity on their passports when they enter the country. No additional proof of passport validity is required past that time.

Starting on January 1, 2021, a valid passport and valid residence permit are required to enter or exit the country. Passports must have at least a six-month validity, except for individuals transiting Estonia or who fall within the scope of the Withdrawal Agreement. Individuals must renew their passport prior to traveling if they have less than six months remaining on their passport. Additional months from passports that are more than 10 years old cannot be added to the six-month validity period.