[Updated] Canada: Introduction of New National Occupational Classification System

Last Updated on February 23, 2023

This article was originally published on 10 November 2022 and was updated on 21 November 2022 to reflect new information.  

21 November 2022 Update: The government of Canada announced that 16 new occupations will be eligible to apply for permanent residence under the Express Entry system. This change is possible due to the government’s new National Occupational Classification System (NOC) and the re-classification of several occupation types. Some of these occupations will include certain healthcare workers and teachers.  

Key Points  

  • Canada will replace the 2021 National Occupation Classification system with a system defined by an applicant's training, education, experience and role responsibilities  


The government of Canada will convert the 2021 National Occupational Classification (NOC) system to a new classification structure on 16 November 2022. The NOC is Canada’s national system for describing occupations, including defining main duties, educational requirements and more.  

As a result, the following changes will be introduced: 

  • Programs that previously used the NOC skill type or levels will be replaced by new training, education, experience and responsibilities (TEER) categories.  
  • The four digital occupation codes associated with an occupation will become five-digital codes.  
  • Eligibility criteria will be updated for all programs currently listed under the NOC system.  

Most jobs will stay in the TEER category that is equal to the skill level in the table below:

Skill type or level 

TEER Category 

Occupation Types 

Skill type 0  TEER 0 Management occupations  
Skill level A TEER 1 Occupations that usually require a university degree 
Skill level B TEER 2 and TEER 3 

Occupations that usually require: 

– a college diploma 

– apprenticeship training of two years or more, or 

-supervisory occupations 

Occupations that usually require: 

– a college diploma 

– apprenticeship training of fewer than two years, or 

– more than six months of on-the-job training 

Skill level C TEER 4 

Occupations that usually require: 

– a high school diploma, or 

– several weeks of on-the-job training

Skill level D TEER 5 Occupations that usually need short-term work demonstration and no formal education 

For information on occupations under the NOC 2021 list, check here. To find a job title, code and TEER check here.   

What are the Changes? 

The government of Canada will introduce a new system for classifying codes associated with occupation types effective 16 November 2022. According to the government announcement, some impacted programs include the Express Entry programs, the Temporary Foreign Worker Program and International Mobility Program. 

Looking Ahead  

Continue to check the government of Canada’s website and Envoy’s website for the latest updates and information.  

Subscribe to Envoy's Global Blog Digest

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative.