Canada: Expanded Electronic Travel Authorization Access

Last Updated on October 27, 2023

Key Points  

  • Canada added 13 additional countries to its electronic travel authorization (eTA) program on 6 June 2023 


The government of Canada added 13 additional countries to its electronic travel authorization (eTA) program on 6 June 2023. The new countries include the following: 

  • Antigua and Barbuda  
  • Argentina  
  • Costa Rica  
  • Morocco  
  • Panama  
  • Philippines  
  • St. Kitts & Nevis St.  
  • Lucia St. Vincent and the Grenadines Seychelles  
  • Thailand  
  • Trinidad & Tobago  
  • Uruguay 

As a result, nationals of these countries who were issued a Canadian visa within the last 10 years or those who currently hold a valid U.S. non-immigration visa are now permitted to apply for an eTA instead of a visa when traveling to Canada via airway. 

Individuals who already have a valid visa can continue to use it to travel to Canada. Those who are not eligible for an eTA, or who are traveling to Canada by means other than air (for example, by car, bus, train and boat—including by cruise ship), will still need a visitor visa.    

What are the Changes?  

The government of Canada expanded eTA access to 13 new countries on 6 June 2023. According to the government announcement, these measures will make it easier and faster for travelers to visit Canada. Eligible individuals will be permitted to enter the country for up to six months for both business and leisure purposes.  

Looking Ahead  

Continue to check the government of Canada’s website and Envoy’s website for the latest updates and information.

Subscribe to Immigration News Alerts from Envoy

Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. For additional information on the issues discussed, consult an attorney at one of the two U.S. Law Firms working with the Envoy Platform or another qualified professional. On non-U.S. immigration issues, consult an Envoy global immigration service provider or another qualified representative