European Union: Six Countries Removed from EU ‘Safe Travel’ List

Key Points

  • The U.S., Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, and North Macedonia were all removed from the EU’s list of countries exempt from restrictions on non-essential travel.  
  • Travelers from the United States, Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, and North Macedonia will face additional travel restrictions, such as longer quarantine periods and additional testing requirements due to this change.  


On Monday, Aug. 30, the European Council recommended that all 27 EU Member States remove the U.S. and several other countries, including Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro and North Macedonia from the safe travel list as a result of rising COVID-19 infections.   

What are the Changes?

As of June 30, the U.S. and 14 other countries had reached an agreement with the EU that allowed for the easing of entry requirements for non-essential travel. However, as of Aug. 30, individuals taking part in non-essential travel will potentially face additional travel restrictions as determined by each Member State.  

Looking Ahead  

Based on the decision, additional travel restrictions could be implemented at the discretion of the authorities of each Member State. Most Member States are expected to comply with the Council’s recommendation. Restrictions and new policies will vary based on country. For additional information and changes visit the following links: for non-EU nationals and for EU-nationals


Content in this publication is for informational purposes only and not intended as legal advice, nor should it be relied on as such. Envoy is not a law firm, and does not provide legal advice. If you would like guidance on how this information may impact your particular situation and you are a client of one of the U.S. Law Firms, consult your attorney. If you are not a client of a U.S. Law Firm working with Envoy, consult another qualified professional. This website does not create an attorney-client relationship with either U.S. Law Firm. 

Previous Article
New Zealand: Immigration New Zealand Withdraws Beijing Operations
New Zealand: Immigration New Zealand Withdraws Beijing Operations

On Sept. 1, 2021 Immigration New Zealand (INZ) announced cessation of consular operations in Beijing.

Next Article
CDC to Mandate COVID-19 Vaccines for Immigrant Visa and Green Card Applicants
CDC to Mandate COVID-19 Vaccines for Immigrant Visa and Green Card Applicants

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) will soon require full COVID-19 vaccination for immigr...


Stay up-to-date on COVID-19's impact on immigration

By submitting this form, you will receive the requested information, as well as occasional related business insights from Envoy. You can unsubscribe at any time. For details, view our Privacy Policy.
Thank you for subscribing!
Error - something went wrong!